Stew

Indian-Red-Lentil-Stew-89

And Esau said to Jacob, “Let me eat some of that red stew, for I am exhausted!” (Therefore his name was called Edom.) Jacob said, “Sell me your birthright now.” Esau said, “I am about to die; of what use is a birthright to me?” – Genesis 25:30-31

This passage tells me how foolish one can get in treating God’s blessings by trading it with temporary pleasure or fix. I said God’s blessings because, Esau was the first born and during those times, the first born normally gets the preference especially with inheritance / being next of kin. It’s God’s blessing to Esau because he doesn’t have any control over his birth order. He was the first born getting the his birthright.

Clearly, Esau was exaggerating his situation that he is about to die, he’s just very exhausted. On the other hand, Jacob was the opportunistic brother who took advantage of the situation.

My personal reflection with my what I’m currently going through:

This serves another reminder to me that I shouldn’t trade God’s blessing with temporary fixes. I can relate with Esau on his being exhausted and that my business could die – and I needed a quick fix (funding). I believe that God is warning me clearly of giving away my “birthright” over a “stew”. This stew is being prepared by some opportunistic deceiver (“Jacob”) and I shouldn’t fall for it.

Lord, thank you that you are good and faithful. Thank you for reminding me of your love and care. Thank you for warning me from committing a grave disaster. Thank you for your wise counsel. And Lord, guide me in all of my decisions and actions. Protect my thoughts and words. Let me fully trust in You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

