On Loving

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. – 1 Cor 13:4-7

I just finished writing back to an email inquiry regarding the business we’re doing. It made me rethink this verse to how it applies and be applied to our daily activities. The most obvious was the relational love towards a significant other. And the probably the other application would be how we do our work.

Let me touch more on the relational love towards a significant other. I’ve been in love many times and got hurt in the process of doing so. Mostly because I had a wrong kind of love, it’s not love how God designed it to be. It’s worldly love. Sometimes, I fall short of doing this to my significant other.

With all honesty, it’s hard to be always at that loving end especially when she’s not lovable at all and for a good period of time. That’s why we all need to get our daily dose of God’s love by remembering His faithfulness. We need to remember what He has done on the cross, that while we’re still sinners Christ died for us (Rom 5:8).

In times when I’m challenged to the point of giving up in loving my wife for so many logical reasons, I go out and pray. I pray that God will enable me to love her like He would. I pray that God will heal my hurts, disappointments, frustrations and turn them with joy. I pray that God would turn my complaints to compliments. I pray that He would also touch my wife’s heart in ways that He can only reach and know.  I pray that I too would be drawn closer to Him and find her doing the same as well.

Leave a Reply

